The History Committee (2011)

Name	Pirate Name	Email Address
Jim Bezdek (Chair)	Mad Sam Flint	jcbezdek@gmail.com
Piero Bonissone	Barbarossa	bonissone@crd.ge.com
Dave Fogel (co-Chair)	Rough Sailin' Hannibal	dfogel@natural-selection.com
Jennie Si	Bright Moon Hillbilly	si@asu.edu
Gary Yen	President, CIS	gyen@okstate.edu
Slawo Wesolkowski	VP, Membership	s.wesolkowski@ieee.org

History of the Neural Networks Committee (NN Com): 1989

1. Introduction

This was an important year in the evolution of the CIS. First, the IEEE NN committee and the INNS agreed to combine their annual meetings - that is, to combine the ICNN and INNS conferences. The new conference was called the *International Joint Conference on Neural Networks* (IJCNN). In February the IEEE pubs committee approved NNcom's proposal for the *IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks*. At the NNcom ADCOM held during the first IJCNN, officers were elected for calendar year 1990. And at this ADCOM, a draft constitution for the proposed NNC was approved. A second NNcom ADCOM was held on Nov. 26 in Denver. Two new societies joined the proposed council of the NNC: the IEEE Oceanic Engineering and Industrial Applications Societies. And at this ADCOM, the NNcom proposed trademarking the NNC logo shown as Figure 89.1. Late in the year, the IEEE Technical Activities Board (TAB) approved formation of the IEEE Neural Networks Council (NNC), to become effective on January 1, 1990.



Figure 89.1 The proposed Logo of the NNC

2A. Sponsor organizations. The IEEE NNCom was still composed of charter members from 10 IEEE societies, viz.

Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing
Circuits and Systems Society
Communications Society
Control Theory Society
Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society
Industrial Electronics Society
Information Theory Society
Laser and Electro-Optics Society (LEOS)
Robotics and Automation Society
Systems, Man and Cybernetics

2B. Administrative Structure

Officers of NNCom: Robert J. Marks II, Chair

Wesley Snyder, Treasurer

Standing Committees of the NNCom: None Working Committees of the NNCom: None

3. Conferences sponsored by the IEEE.

Name First IJCNN
Dates June 18-21, 1989
Venue Washington, D. C.

Administrators Shun-Ichi Amari, Conference Chair

Rolf Eckmiller, International Chair Robert Hecht-Nielsen, Program Chair

Allen Stubberud, Organizing Committee co-Chair Wesley Snyder, Organizing Committee co-Chair

Conference record Proc. of the First IJCNN

4. Archival Publications: None

5. Awards and Prizes: None

6. Significant Related Events: None

7. Anecdotes for 1989: None

8. Glossary, Notation and Acronyms for 1989

BOD Excom	Board of Directors Executive Committee	
CIS	Computational Intelligence Society (of the IEEE)	
DARPA	Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency	
ICNN	International Conference on Neural Networks	
INNS	International Neural Networks Society	
NN	Neural Network	
NNC	Neural Networks Council (of the IEEE)	
NNCom	Neural Network Committee (of the IEEE)	
NNS	Neural Networks Society (of the IEEE)	
TAB	Technical Activities Board (of the IEEE)	

9. References for 1989: None