IEEE Computational Intelligence Society AdCom Meeting, 20 June 2013

Cancun, Mexico

Present CIS EXCOM Members

President: Marios Polycarpou

President - Elect: Xin Yao

Vice President, Finance:Enrique RuspiniVice President, Conferences:Gary FogelVice President, Technical Activities:Hisao IshibuchiVice President, Members Activities:Pablo EstevezVice President, Education:Cesare AlippiVice President, Publications:Nikhil Pal

Present Elected ADCOM Members (voting):

James C Bezdek

Piero Bonissone

Bernadette Bouchon-Meunier

Pau-Choo (Julia) Chung

David Fogel

Yaochu Jin

Janusz Kacprzyk

James M. Keller

Simon Lucas

Luis Magdalena

Jerry Mendel

Jose Principe

Alice Smith

Lipo Wang

Jacek M. Zurada

Editors and Chairs in Attendance:

Editor, Trans. on Evolutionary Computation: Garrison Greenwood

Editor, Trans. on Neural Networks and Learning Systems: Derong Liu
Editor, Transactions on Fuzzy Systems: Chin-Teng Lin
Editor, Computational Intelligence Magazine: Kay Chen Tan
Editor, Trans. CI & AI in Games: Simon Lucas

TC Neural Networks (Chair): Haibo he TC Evolutionary Computation (Chair): Pauline Haddow TC Autonomous Mental Development (Chair): Angelo Cangelosi TC Intelligent Systems Applications (Chair): Yew Soon Ong TC Bioinformatics and Bioengineering (Chair): Jung-Hsien Chiang TC Emergent Technologies (Chair): **Hussein Abbass** TC Computational Finance and Economics (Chair): Uzay Kaymak TC Autonomous Mental Development (Chair): Barbara Hammer TC Games (Chair): Philip Hingston TC Adaptive Dynamic Prog. & Reinforcement Learn. (Chair): **Huaguang Zhang** Strategic Planning Committee (Chair) Gary Yen Standards (Chair): Giovanni Acampora Awards Committee (Chair): Cesar Alippi Constitution & Bylaws Committee (Chair): Piero Bonissone Nominations (Chair): Gary Yen History (Chair): James C Bezdek Distinguished Lecturers Program (Chair): Julia Chung Mulitmedia Tutorials (Chair): **Huajin Tang** Chapters (Chair): Heike Sichtig GOLD (Chair): Stephen G. Matthews Social Media (Chair): Damien Coyle Albert Lam Webinars (Chair): Student Activities (Chair): **Demetrios Eliades** WCI COMMITTEE (Chair): **Keeley Crockett** Webmaster: Rami Abielmona Graduate Student Research Grants Subcommittee (Chair): Christos Panayiotou Continuing Education (Chair): Fakhri Karray Pre-College Activities (Chair): Deana Delp Industry Liaison (Chair): Moufid Harb Manager, CIS E-Letter: Zeng-Guang Hou University Curricula Sub-Committee (Chair): Robert Kozma Staff: Jo-Ellen Snyder

Polycarpou called the meeting to order at 8:150 am.

Approval of Agenda and Previous Minutes

Motion: Motion by Ruspini to approve the Agenda. Seconded

In Favor: All Opposed: None Abstained: None

Motion: Motion by Bonissone: to approve the minutes from the June 11, 2012

meeting. Seconded

In Favor: All Opposed: None Abstained: None

Motion: Motion by Ruspini: to approve Hisao Ishibuchi as new Editor-In-Chief of

Computational Intelligence Magazine. Seconded In Favor: All Opposed: None Abstained: None

VP Conferences Report & Motions

Motion: To approve the General Chair (GIORGIO METTA) Location (GENOA, ITALY),

Dates (OCTOBER 13-16, 2014), and Budget for the 2014 IEEE INTERNATIONAL

CONFERENCE ON DEVELOPMENT AND LEARNING AND ON EPIGENETIC

ROBOTICS (IEEE ICDL-EpiROB 2014).

In Favor: All Opposed: None Abstained: None

Motion: To approve the General Co-Chairs (KAY CHEN TAN and GARY G. YEN)

Location (VANCOUVER, CANADA), Dates (JULY 24-29, 2016) and Budget, for the 2016 IEEE WORLD CONFERENCE ON COMPUTATIONAL INTELLIGENCE (IEEE

WCCI 2016).

In Favor: All Opposed: None Abstained: None

Motion: To approve replacing EMIL PETRIU with SHERVIN SHIRMOHAMMADI as

General Co-Chair and replacing SHERVIN SHIRMOHAMMADI with EMIL

PETRIU as Program Co-Chair for IEEE CIVEMSA 2014.

In Favor: All Opposed: None Abstained: None

Motion: The Decision of the best presentation mode (E.G. ORAL OR POSTER for an

accepted paper at an IEEE CIS sponsored meeting will be solely at the General

Chair's discretion.

Officers Election: Nomination

Motion: by D. Fogel to close nominations for Vice President Finance-Elect. Seconded .

In Favor – All Opposed – None Abstained – None

Motion: by D. Fogel to approve Enrique Ruspini by acclimation.

Seconded.

In Favor – All Opposed – None Abstained – None

The elected VP Finance-Elect for 2014 is: Enrique Ruspini

Motion: by Bonissone to close nominations for Vice President -

Conferences. Seconded.

In Favor – All Opposed – None Abstained – None

Motion: by D. Fogel to approve Pauline Haddow by acclimation.

Seconded

- None Abstained - None

The elected Vice President - Conferences for 2014 – 2015 is: Pauline Haddow

Motion: by Bonissone to close nominations for Vice President -

Technical Activities. Seconded.

In Favor – All Opposed – None Abstained – None

Motion: by Ruspini to enter executive session. Seconded.

In Favor – All Opposed – None Abstained – None

Meeting entered into Executive Session.

Motion: by D. Fogel to leave executive session. Seconded.

In Favor – All Opposed – None Abstained – None

Meeting left into Executive Session.

The elected Vice President – Technical Activities for 2014 – 2015 is: Yaochu Jin

Motion: by Ruspini to destroy the ballots. Seconded.

In Favor – All Opposed – None Abstained – None

Committee Presentations:

Motion: Motion by Lucas to move DLP Presentation to 2pm. Seconded

In Favor: All Opposed: None Abstained: None

Motion: by Ruspini to to refer XES motion back to committee. Seconded.

In Favor – All Opposed – None Abstained – None

Awards Committee:

Motion: by D. Fogel to enter executive session. Seconded.

In Favor – All Opposed – None Abstained – None

Meeting entered into Executive Session.

Motion by Awards Committee to approve the Awards Committee recommendations for the 2014 Awards as below:

- Neural Networks Pioneer Award: Yan LeCun
- Neural Networks Pioneer Award: Jun Wang
- Fuzzy Systems Pioneer Award: Masaharu Mizumoto
- Evolutionary Computation Pioneer Award: George Burgin
- TNNLS Outstanding Paper Award: Long Cheng, Zeng-Guang Hou, Yingzi Lin, Min Tan, Wenjun Chris Zhang, Fangxiang Wu for their paper entitled "Recurrent Neural Network for Non-Smooth Convex Optimization Problems with Application to the Identification of Genetic Regulatory Networks", published in vol. 22, no. 5, pp. 714-726, May 2011
- -TFS Outstanding Paper Award: Deng-Feng Li Dongrui Wu and Jerry M. Mendel for the paper entitled "On the Continuity of Type-1 and Interval Type-2 Fuzzy Logic Systems" IEEE Transactions on Fuzzy Systems, vol. 19, no. 1, pp. 179-192, 2011
- Chapter Award: UKRI CHapter
- CIS Outstanding Dissertation Award: Jane Jing Liang
- Early Career Award: Haibo He
- Outstanding Organization Award: Honda Research Institute Europe

Motion: from Awards Committee. To endorse the need for a change in the

nomination/award processes.

Motion: by Bonissone to leave the executive session. Seconded by Pal.

In Favor – All Opposed – None Abstained – None

Motion: by D. Fogel The IEEE CIS AdCom instructs the IEEE IS President to putt forward

a motion at the next feasible IEEE TAB meeting stating "An IEEE Society that maintains \$4-million in Society reserves can rely as part of its operational budget on any amount of funds from these reserves, including available IEEE-estimated market fluctuation, are projected to remain in excess of \$4-million

per its operational budget. Seconded.

In Favor – 13 Opposed – 2 Abstained – 2

The meeting adjourned at 6:00pm.